Life long learning at the library

Carolyn Dornau, Denise Singh nee Dornau and Glenda Dornau, Rockhampton History Centre.

From Financial Information Seminars, History Workshops and Trivia – to Cake Club, Origami and Knitting Clubs, there is something for all ages, interests and abilities at our Rockhampton Regional Council Libraries.

This year, a special series of talks from our Rockhampton History Centre staff will highlight a range of topics of interest for researchers and family historians.

The very popular Financial Information Seminars, led by staff from Services Australia will feature at all the Rockhampton branches throughout the year, and offer opportunities to ask questions in a relaxed setting.

Every month a new Puzzle Activity and Colouring booklet is distributed across all library branches with heaps of activities to occupy the mind and increase brain health.

Of course all their workshops and talks are free (and library membership is free too).

For more information or to book a seat at a workshop, please call the Library Administration on phone 49368 043 or email libraries@rrc.qld.gov.au.

The calendar events for March to May.

MARCH

Wednesday 1-March – Knitting and Crochet Club, Southside, 9:30am – noon.

Friday 3- March Financial Information Services seminar – Money Options, Mt Morgan, 9:30am-noon.

Wednesday 8 March Knitting and Crochet Club, Southside, 9:30am-noon.

Wednesday 15 March, Knitting and Crochet Club, Southside, 9.30am – noon.

Tuesday 21 March, Origami Club, Gracemere, 4pm-5pm

Wednesday 22 March, Knitting and Crochet Club, Southside, 9:30-noon

Friday 24 March, Financial Information Services seminar – Insurance and Protecting your Assets, Southside, 9:30-noon.

Tuesday 28 March, Trivia Tuesday, Northside, 10am -11am.

Tuesday 28 March, Cake Club, Gracemere, 10:30an -11:30am.

Wednesday 29 March, Knitting and Crochet Club, Southside, 9:30am-noon

Thursday 30 March, History Centre workshop – Research your House, Southside, 10:30am-11:30am.

Friday 31 March Author talk – Jim Cox – SOS: Save our species, Southside, 10am-11

APRIL

Wednesday 5 April, Knitting and Crochet Club, Southside, 9:30am -noon

Wednesday 12 April, Knitting and Crochet Club, Southside, 9.30am-noon.

Friday 14 April, Author talk – Sharon Hanna – Meet Mr Pickles, Southside, 10am-11am

Tuesday 18 April, Origami Club, Gracemere, 4pm-5pm

Wednesday 19 April Knitting and Crochet Club, Southside, 9:30am-noon

Monday 24 April, Financial Information Services seminar -Disability and Carer Payments, Gracemere, 9:30am-noon

Wednesday 26 April, Knitting and Crochet Club, Southside, 9:30-noon.

Friday 28 April, Financial Information Services seminar – Planning for Retirement, Southside, 9:30am-noon

MAY

Wednesday, 3 May, Knitting and Crochet Club, Southside, 9:30am-noon

Tuesday, 9 May, Financial Information Services seminar – Age Pension and Your Choices, Northside, 9:30am-noon

Wednesday 10 May, Knitting and Crochet Club, Southside, 9:30am-noon

Tuesday, 16 May, Origami Club, Gracemere, 4pm-5pm

Wednesday 17 May, Knitting and Crochet Club, Southside, 9:30am-noon

Tuesday 23 May, Trivia Tuesday, Northside, 10am-11am

Tuesday 23 May, Cake Club, Gracemere, 10:30am-11:30am

Wednesday 24 May, Knitting and Crochet Club, Southside, 9:30am-noon

Friday, 26 May, Financial Information Services seminar – Superannuation for Women, Southside, 9:30am-noon

Wednesday 31 May, Knitting and Crochet Club, Southside, 9:30am -noon

Other News

On the trail of wine and food

The Granite Belt is Australia's highest wine country region, sitting 900 metres above sea level, with a vast countryside, working farms and quintessential towns...

U3A Expo of Activities wins over new members

An Expo of the activities offered by U3A Rockhampton and District was held at Frenchville Sports Club on 6 February. An open invitation to...

New Noosa group brings scrabblers out of the woodwork

It’s no exaggeration to say that Noosa woman Megan Marks loves Scrabble. The woman known as ‘Mad Scrabbler Meg’ loves it so much she’s...

Robyn enjoys the sweet life

Sunshine Coast cake artist Robyn Brown may have retired from the public services a couple of years ago, but she is busier than ever...

Double delight when ABBA meets Queen

It promises to be double the delight when the Sunshine Coast’s premiere vocal group, Oriana Choir, presents the music of ABBA and Queen on...